December 7th in CMYK

Well, I finally won’t have to put my diabolical plan in action. I made a movie for the Nikon Festival, which was only opened to US residents, and had it uploaded by a friend from New Jersey. Unfortunately, my submission didn’t make the top 50, so now that I don’t have anything to hide anymore, I can show the video !

It was all shot with the Panasonic HMC150 in 1080p24 with a Letus35 adapter, with Canon FD lenses (28mm 2.8, 50mm 1.4 and 100mm 2.8). Heavy color correction in After Effects afterward, and I will unfortunately say that this is the first time I’ve been dissapointed by the HMC150. The low bit-rate of the original footage just didn’t hold up under the multi-layer color correction. It looks fine down-scaled to 720p on Vimeo, but the original 1080p version doesn’t look too good, especially on a LCD television.

I’ll take the occasion to say to those who think HDSLRs are the way to go for video right now, hold your horses a bit. Footage from most (I say “most” just to back myself, cause I would say ALL) HDSLRs right now have a much lower bitrate than AVCHD footage, so color grading this footage heavily must destroy it way beyond anyone can imagine (I have not tested it yet but…). That’s another debate I won’t get into in this post though.

Anyway, here’s the movie, feel free to give me some feedback.

3 responses to “December 7th in CMYK

  1. I like it…I’m thinking of studying film and I have 3 questions for you, if you don’t mind:

    1. What’s the transition you’re using between shots to make it look like the camera is snapping a picture?

    2. In the forest shot, how did you get the “looking through a tube” look with the trees blackened slightly?

    Thanks for your time.

    3. How did you (?) compose the music? I really like it.

    • Hey Phil,

      Thanks for your interest in this. The transition I used often is simply an additive dissolve, 2 frames long, so the highlights from each shot blend very fast between each other, creating this kind of flash effect. The forest shot I used a technique called vignetting, which is to use a black solid and remove a circle-shaped form in the center, and then fading out the edges of the remaining solid. Many softwares can accomplish that: Final Cut, After Effects, Color, Premiere etc. Just Google “vignette” or “vignetting” and you’ll find answers. Finally, the music is from a website called Royalty Free Music Library. They have lots of good music and you can get them for about 50$, which is pretty cheap. I used to compose music with a software called Reason, but now I prefer to buy or have it composed by someone who specializes in music.

      Hope it helps !

      CB

  2. Excellent. Thanks for taking the time to reply. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

